Location: Home > About us > The Director
The Director

The Director, Prof. Zhu Rixiang

Zhu Rixiang received his bachelor’s degree in physics from Shanxi University in 1978, his master’s degree in geophysics from the Institute of Geophysics, CAS in 1984, and his PhD in geology and geophysics from the Institute of Geology, CAS in 1989. His main research has focused on several aspects: (1) Paleointensity of the geomagnetic field and its implications for the geodynamo, (2) geomagnetic polarity transitions and the geodynamo, (3) magnetostratigraphic dating, (4) craton evolution, (5) global tectonics, and (6) instrument development.

Zhu Rixiang established the Beijing Paleomagnetism and Geochronology laboratory (PGL), which integrated the 40Ar/39Ar geochronology with paleomagnetism. As the largest center for research on rock-magnetism, paleomagnetism, and geochronology as well as educational training, the PGL contributes to the Chinese geomagnetism and paleomagnetism (GP) community as well as to Earth sciences in general. The PGL is internationally recognized as one of the top-level paleomagnetic laboratories in the world. Zhu Rixiang’s interests and contributions also reach beyond the scope of the GP community. He is leader of the largest NSFC Earth science project, in which more than one hundred top Chinese geoscientists have participated, entitled "Destruction of the North China Craton" with a budget of 200 million RMB (~$30 million),. The project shed new light on the tectonic settings of the North China Craton and the process of its decratonization during the late Mesozoic. Zhu Rixiang has over 270 peer-reviewed publications and is a highly cited author.

Among his scientific honors, Zhu Rixiang was elected academician of the CAS in 2003 and a Fellow of the TWAS (originally named "Third World Academy of Sciences") in 2005. He received an honorary doctor at the University of Orleans (France) in 2006 and became a Fellow of American Geophysical Union (AGU) in 2011. His research has been recognized by the State Natural Science Award of China (2006), by the TWAS Prize in Earth Sciences (2005), by the HLHL Foundation (Hong Kong), by the Scientific and Technological Progress Prize (2004), by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) with the Fund for Creative Research Groups (2002), by the CAS with the first-class Natural Science Prize (1996) and “Hundred Talent Program” (1994), and by the Chinese Government with the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars (Earth Sciences) (1996).

For more imformation please visit Here 

No. 19, Beitucheng Western Road, Chaoyang District, 100029, Beijing, P.R.China
Tel:010-82998001 Fax:010-62010846 Email:suoban@mail.iggcas.ac.cn